Join member

ASUS Support Home Location : Forum > Motherboard > SABERTOOTH 990FX  
  Forum  
  Topic : [Others]Memory for Sabertooth 990FX New Topic
Elsa
Level :
Tech Points : 1
Posted:12/17/2011 7:18:00 PM # 1
I am fairly new to the world of computer hardware, and I am trying to build my very first desktop computer. After searching around on different forums and asking friends for suggestions, I have decided to go with the Asus Sabertooth 990FX Motherboard and the AMD FX-8150 CPU with a 64-bit Windows 7.

However, I have a question about what kind of memory I should use with the Sabertooth 990FX. The specification of the Sabertooth 990FX states that it uses DDR3 1866/1600/1333/1066 Hz ECC, Non-ECC, Un-buffered Memory, and it also states that "Due to CPU spec., AMD 100 series CPUs support up to DDR3 1066MHz. With ASUS design, this motherboard can support up to DDR3 1333MHz". This is the part I don't quite understand. Since I am going to use the AMD FX-8150 CPU, does that mean I should look for the DDR3 1066MHz memory instead of the 1866MHz or 1600MHz? On the other hand, when I look up the DDR3 1866MHz memory, most of them claims to be "designed for Intel machine" or something similar, so does that mean I shouldn't bother looking at memory that is higher than the 1333MHz (or DDR3 1333MHz memory is the max I should look for)?

Last but not least, does it matter which slot I socket the memory to, or is there a specific order that I should use? I am looking to buy either a 2 x 4G memory or a 4 x 4G memory.

Thank you very much for taking the time to answer my questions.

Reply Reply Quote & Reply Quote & Reply
CoolerMaster CM690 II Advanced Mid Tower Case, SABERTOOTH 990FX, FX8150 CPU with water cooling, Corsair Vengeance DDR3 CMZ16GX3M4A1699C9, ADATA SATA3 SSD, ZOTAC GeForce 550Ti video card, CoolerMaster SilentPro Gold 1200watt PSU, 23inch Samsung Monitor x 2
Mistral
Level :
Tech Points : 298
Posted:12/17/2011 8:59:00 PM # 2