ASUS Support Home Location : Forum > Motherboard > P6X58D-E  
  Forum  
  Topic : [Problem]Overclocking Failed New Topic
raulllll
VIP Member
Level :
Tech Points : 1
Posted:8/22/2011 3:05:00 AM # 1
Hello I'm trying to overclock my i7 930 but whatever bclk setting i use will result in failure to post and then an over clocking failed error. I've tried all kinds of voltage settings and combinations but nothing works. Everything else on the board works fine unless in involves increasing bclk. XMP profile works. Tried with a different cpu (920) and different ram.

Reply Reply Quote & Reply Quote & Reply
John
VIP Member
Level :
Tech Points : 4
Posted:8/22/2011 4:05:00 AM # 2
Hi Raul i'm no technical expert , but this mobo is very picky when it comes to overclocking , it needs high voltages when overclocking , but anyways , did u disable all CPU power saving features ? C1E support , Intel Virtualization , TM and SpeedStep ? turn them off , and u can try a small amount of BCLK first to see if it succeeds , u can start with low voltages for vCore and if it doesn't reach windows then u can increase the voltage by notches untill it does , and make sure ur ram meets the target frequency , and don't go over 1.65v for DRAM Bus voltage . And be careful when overcloking , because for some reason , my mobo is no longer reaching windows , and that was 90% due to overclocking , although , it succeeded with a stable overclock for about a week before that happened .

AJ
VIP Member
Level :
Tech Points : 440
Posted:8/30/2011 8:43:00 AM # 3

Quote:
Author: raulllll Posted: 8/22/2011 3:05:00 AM

Hello I'm trying to overclock my i7 930 but whatever bclk setting i use will result in failure to post and then an over clocking failed error. I've tried all kinds of voltage settings and combinations but nothing works. Everything else on the board works fine unless in involves increasing bclk. XMP profile works. Tried with a different cpu (920) and different ram.

Hi,