ASUS Support Home Location : Forum > Eee Family > Eee PC 1005HAB  
  Forum  
  Topic : [Problem]I can't set up wireless on my new Asus 1005HAB New Topic
Bleiman
VIP Member
Level :
Tech Points : 1
Posted:5/23/2010 11:35:00 PM # 1
I just received my refurbished Asus Eee with XP and am trying to connect it to my home network. It works fine wired but wirelessly it says I'm not connected and when I try to repair it, it cannot find my IP address. Everyone else's wireless is working and I have reset the router and modem. I went into my device manager and it says my wireless network adapter is enabled and working. I'm still a computer beginner but not afraid so I followed some instructions I found and ran cmd ipconfig/all. It said some things that may be the problem:
ip routing enabled ...no
wins proxy enabled...no
ethernet adapter wireless network connection Atheros AR9285
media state...media disconnected.
I checked the bios and the network is on, my wireless Fn-F2 says it's on.
I tried to update the driver but I apparently have the latests.
Any suggestions? 

Reply Reply Quote & Reply Quote & Reply
wayne
VIP Member
Level :
Tech Points : 362
Posted:5/23/2010 11:49:00 PM # 2
first thing you need to do is to set all the wireless property to be the same as that of the router's wireless property, that includes SSID, channel width, authentication, encryption, password/passphrase, etc
when this is done, your laptop should find the router's SSID on site survey.
give it a try

Nikita
VIP Member
Level :
Tech Points : 395
Posted:5/24/2010 1:51:00 AM # 3

Quote:
Author: Bleiman Posted: 5/23/2010 11:35:00 PM