Join member

ASUS Support Home Location : Forum > Eee Family > Eee PC 4G/Linux  
  Forum  
  Topic : [Problem]SD / USB Permissions New Topic
Savitski
Level :
Tech Points : 0
Posted:3/2/2008 12:50:00 PM # 1
I continue to get the message that I do not have enough permissions to use an SD card and/or a USB stick.  I have a new USB stick and a new SD card that both work fine on other machines.  The USB was just purchased today.  I tried the http://wiki.eeeuser.com/howto:sd_permissions
It did not work.  When I try the last step in the instructions, my eee tries to connect to my LAN...
Any other ideas?  Also, do not many people run into this or do you all think that since I am new to Linux that I am having trouble?  Thanks in advance.

Reply Reply Quote & Reply Quote & Reply
richrmoore
VIP Member
Level :
Posted:3/5/2008 1:34:00 AM # 2
I believe you'll run into permissions problems if you try to access an SD card or USB storage device from some means other than the File Manager.  The reason is that the Eee automatically installs these under root ownership when you insert them.  The FM asserts Admin authority so you can write to the devices.  If you are accessing from say the terminal mode, you'll need to superuser to root:  "sudo i" should work.

One thing you may want to check is whether the device has a "read only" type of lock on it.  Some have little switches that need to be set to allow you to write to the device.

Maybe it's just luck, but so far I've been able to use FM to do anything I need with an SD or USB storage device, so have had no problems. 

Richard

An observer of life and the people who inhabit it.
Austin
Level :
Posted:3/10/2008 11:40:00 AM # 3
I have exactly the same problem - even if I do approach the USB or SD card from File Manager. It had been fine until the devices I've been using for ages suddenly denied permissions.