ASUS Support Home Location : Forum > Graphic Card > EAH4870 Series  
  Forum  
  Topic : [Problem]Power Supply to EAH4870 New Topic
Nhewyt
VIP Member
Level :
Tech Points : 0
Posted:8/4/2008 2:05:00 AM # 1
Ok folks - this is my first build with a really high end graphics card and I have to say that the documentation both on the CD and the included book is WEAK.  The card has TWO 6 pin power connectors and the booklet says "attach 4 pin power connector".  I cannot find anywhere that it tells me which power connector to use, how to use the included 6 pin power cable with the dual molex connectors attached - nothing.

Yes, I'm a little frustrated right now.  I don't want to hook up the power cables wrong and blow up a nearly $300.00 card - does anyone have any clue where the power cables hook up and where it tells you this lovely bit of information.

Thank you,
Nhewyt

Reply Reply Quote & Reply Quote & Reply
gswonsn
VIP Member
Level :
Posted:8/4/2008 9:23:00 AM # 2
Well, the documentation is just wrong. You should plug 2 6-pin PCIe cables into your card. Be sure that your power supply provides enough power to each rail, if you have multiple 12 volt rails. I got my card on Friday and I got to say I am quite impressed. I hope you are when you are up and running.

George

Nhewyt
VIP Member
Level :
Posted:8/4/2008 9:48:00 AM # 3
Thank you George.  There are two 6-8 pin PCI express power cables with my ASUS 850 watt PSU - I plugged them both into the card, leaving the 2 pin separate sections off, of course.  I am guessing that the 2 pin part is separate so you can use the pins as 6 or 8's.

Still waiting for my main HD and 3.0g sata cables to get here so I haven't powered it up yet.
Will let you know how it goes when I do ;-)