Join member

ASUS Support Home Location : Forum > Motherboard > P8Z77-M PRO  
  Forum  
  Topic : [Problem]not starting up New Topic
Jack
Level :
Tech Points : 1
Posted:12/10/2012 11:57:00 AM # 1
This is my first build so I'm very new at this. When I first got this motherboard it would not give me any POST, standby LED lights up and fans would come on but nothing else. The trouble shooting did nothing since it all depended on what POST message I as getting. I have switched out the RAM, PSU, and PC speaker, but I don't have a CPU to try. Tech support said to send it in, but the new one they sent me was doing to same thing. Online it was suggested  to clear the RTC. I did but now when I press the power button the fans spin for 1/2 a second then nothing.>
>I can provide any more information needed. Thank you in advance for the help.

Reply Reply Quote & Reply Quote & Reply
Ulrich
Level :
Tech Points : 18316
Posted:12/15/2012 1:06:00 AM # 2

Hi Jack..

I assume that you connected both power supply connections to your board..  the 24wire EATXPWR and the 8wire EATX12V..   Disconnect the 8wire EATX12V power supply connection from the board and see if the power supply will stay on when you start the system..  It won't boot that way.. but the supply may stay on.

There are 10 kinds of people in the World...Those who understand binary, and those who dont!
Adzam
VIP Member
Level :
Tech Points : 3
Posted:12/15/2012 5:29:00 AM # 3
Hello Jack,

I have built quite a few and the P8Z77-M Pro was the first one that had me stumped too. I carefully assembled everything and when I switched it on for the first time I got lots of beeps from the computer speaker. I could not get into BIOs. I took out the the four DDR3 Ram modules and carefully repalaced them one by one and still it would not boot up.