Topic : [Problem]CMOS Checksum error - Defaults loaded New Topic
ale_prog
VIP Member
Level :
Tech Points : 0
Posted:1/10/2009 9:58:00 AM # 1
[Sorry for my bad English]

Hi there

I've been using this MB for six months, no problems until yesterday.
Suddenly, my bios config reseted, dunno why. The POST gave me the message "CMOS Checksum error - Defaults loaded". Even the system clock stopped. So I thought it was a problem with the battery. Did a Clear Cmos by taking it off, changed the pin from position 1 to 2, got it back where it was, reinstalled the battery and booted.

After setting all the configs like I had them, booted Win Xp but everything froze after 10 - 15 minutes.

Restarted, and the same message appeared. And it keeps repeating until now, every time y turn on the pc or restart, my config disappears.

What is a mistery to me is that the system clock randomly keeps with the real time, or changes to 00:00:00 Jan 1 2008. In 10 reboots, 4 kept the clock settings, 6 didn't.

Did a BIOS update today, all worked fine. I'm using rev 1301 right now, but nothing changed.

Any suggestions? Thanks in advance.

Sorry, forgot my specs:
E6750 + CNPS9700
P5N-E SLI
2x2GB Supertalent 800 mhz
ATI 4850
Purepower 500w

Reply Reply Quote & Reply Quote & Reply
Epidemic30
VIP Member
Level :
Tech Points : 16
Posted:1/10/2009 11:25:00 PM # 2
ale_prog,
  try buying an new cmos battery altogether man!!! i think the spec number is a 2032 battery. you can get them pretty much anywhere. whatever you do dont be flashing your system while its acting unreliably like that or you could end up with a paperweight!!! you got very lucky that that didnt happen with auto settings. nvidia boards run terribly with all auto settings. the best thing to do ius set up all bios settings manualy. if you need help doin that let me know....