Join member

ASUS Support Home Location : Forum > Motherboard > M4A785TD-M EVO  
  Forum  
  Topic : [Problem]How To Set Up RAID 0 ? New Topic
JamieD
Level :
Tech Points : 1
Posted:11/20/2009 12:47:00 PM # 1
I am a bit of a newbie at this and need some direction. Can someone give me detailed step by step instructions on how to set up a RAID 0? I have the M4A785TD-M EVO mobo and the AMD Athlon II 620 Processor. I have 3 WD Black Caviar 1TB drives. I have installed Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit OS. I would like to use the first drive as my boot drive and the other 2 drives in a RAID 0.(mostly for rendering HD video). I have tried changing the SATA configuration for the drives to RAID in BIOS. Then when I reboot I entered CTRL + F to get into an AMD RAID Utility. I tried to configure the RAID, but then when I was done, I could not boot into Windows. From reading other posts I am confused about the need to install RAID drivers. Some folks say to do this, other say with Windows 7 you don't need to. If I look in Device Manager, I do not see any RAID drivers. I don't have a floppy drive and don't know how to install these drivers. I tried the "Make Disk" function in the ASUS CD, but it could not find a drive to install the drivers on. Do I have to boot to the Windows 7 disc in the optical drive? Will I have to reinstall Windows 7? If so, will I loose the Data and programs that I have already installed? Do I have to change the BIOS to RAID 0 first then reinstall Windows 7? As you can see I am thoroughly confused. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

Reply Reply Quote & Reply Quote & Reply
cladisch
VIP Member
Level :
Tech Points : 457
Posted:11/20/2009 8:32:00 PM # 2
I would like to use the first drive as my boot drive and the other 2 drives in a RAID 0.(mostly for rendering HD video).

The RAID will be lost entirely  if when one of the disks breaks. RAID 0 makes sense only if your measurements indicate that disk throughput is the bottleneck.